What's your favorite pickup with your Hiwatt

HIWATT amps from the Hylight Electronics era

Moderator: Mods

dirtybird

What's your favorite pickup with your Hiwatt

Post by dirtybird »

I just picked up my first vintage Hiwatt ('77 DR103) and I'm now looking to dial in a great tone so I thought I would ask for the opinions of those who've been using vintage Hiwatts for awhile.

I realize what makes a "great tone" is ultimately subjective and a lot of different things go into making one (like the strings, the cabinet, the pick etc.) but still want to hear your thoughts/experience with Hiwatts and pickups.

Thanks! ... and sorry if this topic has already been beat to death on other posts. As you can tell, I'm new to vintage Hiwatts.
mikhailwatt

Re: What's your favorite pickup with your Hiwatt

Post by mikhailwatt »

dirtybird wrote:I realize what makes a "great tone" is ultimately subjective and a lot of different things go into making one (like the strings, the cabinet, the pick etc.) but still want to hear your thoughts/experience with Hiwatts and pickups.
What type of guitar?

I'm really happy with the Smits (http://smitspickups.com/) CC2 humbucker set. Nice vintage PAF sound. Perfect into a cranked DR103 or '504 + vintage SE4123 cab.
I had Duncan '59s before and they were missing something, too mid-scooped and sterile sounding IMO.

FWIW :roll::
Dunlop Nylon .88mm picks
Ernie Ball Hybrid Slinky .009 - .046
You can almost feel the current flowing
You can almost see the circuits blowing
OldSchoolDave

Post by OldSchoolDave »

dirtybird wrote: I realize what makes a "great tone" is ultimately subjective and a lot of different things go into making one ...
You're right there! That said, there's something magic about P-90's into a vintage Hiwatt / Fane setup.

Listen to some of the clips from the 2007 Vintage Hiwatt Convention. Most of those guitars had humbuckers (Les Pauls and Les Paul clones).